Travelling During Lockdown

With the recent updates from the government to the lockdown which commenced on the 4th of July (last Saturday), there have been many changes to travelling. This includes aspects like more industries opening up, but also the introduction of air bridges.

Despite this, the UK still continues to advise against non-essential international travel, except countries and territories which are listed. This is to try and contain the number of coronavirus cases coming into the UK.

Since the beginning of June, anybody who enters the UK has had to go into a mandatory 14-day quarantine to ensure they do not have the virus. Although, from the 10th of July 2020 you will not have to self-isolate when you arrive in England if the country you are coming from is listed on the travel corridors list.

What is a travel corridor?

A travel corridor can also be known as an air bridge. These are ways in which the government can allow UK holidaymakers to travel to different countries without having to quarantine. On the 4th of July, the government released a list of countries in which UK citizens are able to travel to without having to quarantine on the return.

Which countries will be exempt from quarantine?

Below are countries which have been opened up as a travel corridor:

  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba
  • Croatia
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao (Macau)
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Monaco
  • the Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Reunion
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • St Barthélemy
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Vatican City State
  • Vietnam

Will this list change?

The government have announced that they ‘will keep the conditions in these countries and territories under review’. If they worsen they will not hesitate to reintroduce isolation requirements. In other words, remove them from the Travel Corridor list.

Can I travel to places which are not on the list?

The simple answer is yes. Although they are not listed within the countries above, this does not mean that travel there is not allowed. But, you need to be aware that there are many countries which are not on the list as they are not allowing UK holidaymakers in.  Therefore, you should educate yourself with the details of the specific country you are wanting to travel too before you do anything.

Travel Advice

Those who are expecting to be travelling soon should check the latest advice from FCO travel advice to keep updated. Therefore, you are aware of updates and changes. This is to ensure that you are prepared and up-to-date with everything necessary before you leave the country.

Our Help

Unfortunately, many businesses and industries have lost a lot of money leading to them having to let go of staff or place them on a furlough scheme. These people may be struggling for money as they are not getting as much income as they usually would. If you are struggling to pay for essentials, why not consider a short term loan from LoanPig.